About Us

The Cheboygan Housing Commission is a Public Housing Authority (PHA). The PHA offers two federally funded rental assistance programs. Rent is based on all income of all adults living in the home. As a service to its residents, City of Cheboygan ordinance allows for the PHA’s continued operation in cooperation agreement with the US Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD).

Mission Statement

Our mission is to provide safe, decent and sanitary housing conditions for very low-income families and to manage resources efficiently. The PHA is to promote social determinants of health and support personal, economic and social upward mobility to provide families the opportunity to make the transition from subsidized to non-subsidized housing.

Housing Commission Board & Staff

  • Director: Catherine Schulz, Director
  • Commissioner: Terrence Keating, FYE 3/31/2022 Board President
  • Commissioner: Richard Cartmill, FYE 3/31/2022 Board Vice President
  • Commissioner: Constance Rieger
  • Commissioner: Dorene Stempky, Approving Official & Executive Director (ret.)
  • Commissioner: Jacqueline Thompson

Board of Commissioners Meetings

Board meetings are held the third Wednesday of each month at 12noon at Cheboygan City Hall. Contact the management office for meeting information or to request an accommodation to access or participate in meetings. DUE TO COVID Board Meetings will be held online via GoTo Meeting; call in information can be found in the public meeting call in information posted here.

Public Meetings, Resident Advisory Board, & Repositioning

Housing Authority Board of Commissioners meetings are always open to the public. Board of Commissioners meetings are held the third Wednesday of each month at 12noon. Meetings will take place in person at Cheboygan City Council chambers with web conference also available from computer, tablet or smartphone at https://global.gotomeeting.com/join/152212917. You can also dial in using your phone 1(408) 650-3123 Access Code: 152-212-917 (For supported devices, tap a one-touch number below to join instantly.) – One-touch: tel:+14086503123,152212917#

The Housing Authority continues to work on public housing redevelopment plans. Anyone interested in serving as a resident advisor should contact the management office or email me at Catherine.schulz@cheboyganhousing.org. A resident board is important to make sure that the housing commission is making plans that will meet your housing needs. A public housing resident meeting is required before our application to reposition and redevelop is submitted to HUD; the tenant meeting tentatively planned for May 2021 has been postponed.